Thursday, August 14, 2014

DepEd-ARMM orients new schools for the arts, sports, journalism and foreign languages

Zamboanga City – School heads and teachers from twenty-three (3) public schools in the ARMM are in this city for a 3-day orientation, from august 12 to 14, 2014, to implement DepEd’s Special Programs in the Arts (SPA), Sports (SPS), Journalism (SPJ) and Foreign Languages (SPFL). Also invited were partner agencies such as the ARMM Bureau of Cultural Heritage (BCH), Regional Sports Coordinating Office (RSCO), Bureau of Public Information (BPI) and Bureau of Madrasah Education (BME).

These special programs are geared to provide avenues for expression of students with different learning styles and in so doing be able to keep students interested completing their studies and reduce drop-outs of students who are otherwise bored with the regular secondary program, according to BSE Director Dr Fatima Abubakar.

In this the 3-day this event, the target schools were recently oriented about the program “why”, “how” and “what” based from the national guides contextualized to the ARMM setting. They also plan how this program will take shape or will be implemented in their schools in terms of classroom management, school operation, division technical assistance and regional policy and resource support. They have had assessed their capacity and what is needed to implement the program properly, in terms of program equipment and facilities, ICT needs, school head and teacher qualification and training program, and assessment requirement. The breakout sessions were facilitated by Regional Coordinators Bernard Libetario, Kamil Alongan, Helen Piol and Supervisor Saada Tubing.

To insure provincial equity, one school is identified for every province and they are as follows:

SPS Implementing Schools - Concepcion NHS (Basilan), Kili-Kili NHS (Lanao Sur), Datu Paglas NHS (Maguindanao), Sulu NHS (Sulu) and Tubig-Indangan NHS (Tawi-Tawi).

SPJ Implementing Schools - Parang Basak NHS (Basilan), Mananayo NHS (Lanao Sur), Camp Siongco NHS (Maguindanao) Jolo NHS (Sulu) and Batu-Batu NHS (Tawi-Tawi).

SPFL (Spanish) Implementing School - ARMM Regional Science High School (Maguindanao)

SPFL (Arabic) Implementing Schools - Atong-Atong NHS (Basilan), Adiong MNHS (Lanao Sur) and Sapakan NHS (Maguindanao)

SPFL (Bahasa) Implementing Schools - Pangutaran NHS, Luuk NHS and Patikul NHS (Sulu); Sitangkai, South Ubian and Ungus Matata NHS (Tawi-Tawi).

Immediately after this orientation, the school team will start the groundwork leading to the organization of at least a class of 35 students inclined towards the program focus. Their respective division offices will provide technical assistance in terms of quality assurance and liaising with local government and non-government entities for resource support.

Regional Secretary Atty Jamar M. Kulayan said, DepEd-ARMM is committed to provide policy and resource support to insure these schools will serve as models for the ARMM provinces and for future improvement and expansion under the Bangsamoro political entity. 

"Moral Governance"

English - "Good governance for a progressive and peaceful BARMM."

Sinama - "Hap pamarinta tudju BARMM na sambu maka salamat"

Bahasa Sug - "Dan mabuntul tudju pa BARMM masambu iban mahatul"

Meranaw - "Mathitu a kandatu sa BARMM ko katagompiya go kalilintad"


"Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE)"